Amendment One: WWJD?

Standard

I cannot express how much I don’t want to write this blog. I hate politics. I find it as useless to talk about as I do religion. It’s complicated and messy and opinionated… It makes my skin crawl.

Amendment One

I’ve been ignoring the “debate” among my friends on Facebook because (in my opinion) the Facebook isn’t the right forum for intelligent discussion. Pontificating? Absolutely, but not an actual sharing of ideas.  Oh, and it’s a great tool to wound others.

So, in this vein, I was recently reading a friend’s FB status on Amendment One. She gave her opinion and encouraged her friends to do some research regarding it. For those not in the know, Amendment One would change the North Carolina state constitution by defining what a “valid” domestic union in North Carolina would be. It reads:

Constitutional amendment to provide that marriage between one man and one woman is the only domestic legal union that shall be valid or recognized in this State.

You can imagine the heated, emotional response this is causing. And this post is NOT about how you should vote, it is however, beloved, about how you should act.

Back to my friends’ Facebook.

It exploded in downright meanness. NOT my friend’s intention by the way. An openly gay friend of hers spoke out of his pain regarding this issue, what it’s like to not be able to be wed his partner; then a Christian friend of hers said, “Who is this person and why are you associating with him?” And that was just the beginning of the opinions and 3-sentence proclamations. I however was more caught by the attitudes behind the words. I was so hurt for the friend of my friend—his pain is real—and I am pissed off at the cruel words of my Christian brothers and sisters. This meanness is not WWJD!

Dear ones, please hear me. The point I want to make about Christians taking a “stand” on issues is that while it maybe important, Jesus clearly said, “They will know you are Mine by your love” NOT your ability to take a stand.

Truth in love, brothers and sisters… Truth in love requires relationship, by the way, it means getting messy and dealing with “stuff” for the long term. And so many of us would rather live by lawn signs and bumper stickers, by 3-sentence proclamations and voter’s ballots.

Please, beloved, be very careful when thrusting your Christian beliefs on the non-Christian. The mandates and instruction in the scriptures are to the CHURCH not society as a whole, remember that… Jesus wants to change individuals (starting with His followers) who will impact their society for good and healing, not change laws to force others to comply.

So, Amendment One, what would Jesus do? He’d tell my friend’s friend that He loves him and his partner and He desires relationship with them both. He’d tell my Christian sister who said, “Who is this person and why are you associating with him?” that “that person” is a loved human being that He died for, just like her, and that “associating with him” is what He has called His followers to do.  And He’d tell my friend that how she loves is more important to Him than how she votes. (But I know she already knows that)

Jesus doesn’t give us a “how to” regarding politics (other than give to Caeser what is his and to pray for those in political leadership). Not all Christians are Republicans or conservative or live in a democracy for that matter. However, He is crystal clear regarding how to treat others: the branches are to reflect the Vine.

So as we go forward, remember this: We love because He first loved us… 1 John 4: 19.

I look forward to your comments.

10 responses »

  1. Beautiful! My heart physically HURT for the storm it caused, and you are right– that was never my intention. But it did allow for conversation outside of the forum of Facebook, and the Lord only knows the fruit of that. ❤

  2. The first comment that was stated on this blog, I dont get? ” I hate politics. I find it as useless to talk about as I do religion.” I feel sorry for you Stephanie, if that is how you feel about speaking for the person that died for you. Just doesn’t make sence to me? Now I don’t go out speaking up alot as my sister-in-law you were speaking about will tell you. But sometimes I do.

  3. Jame, when I say religion I mean those made up constructions human beings use to define faith. Religion is not relationship and I see my faith grounded in relationship with Jesus, not religion. And I am not afraid of speaking about the One I love, who redeemed me in spite of who I was. Thank you for speaking up here–I appreciate your willingness to join the conversation, especially if it is something you don’t normally do. Stephanie

  4. Yes, love the sinner, but hate the sin. Jesus never condoned sin. He always encouraged repentance. Our attitude toward any person who is different in any way should be an attitude of unconditional love. However, when that person rejects Jesus … and His commandments … we should wipe the dust from our feet. Our society requires laws that protect the innocent. Today, our country and the laws that were established using the bible are under attack from too many sources. We must stand for something or we will fall for anything. Pray for guidance when you vote.

    • Mr. Barlow–oh, what would happen if His people prayed?! I will be honest, I struggle with when to wipe the dust off–how do I walk away and yet still leave the door open for return? Thank you for these wise words. They are received 🙂

  5. love the sinner, but hate the sin.

    Where does Jesus ever tell us to hate? And he’s VERY clear that we are not to judge others, but to pay attention to our own sins. (I can’t speak for anyone else, but that’s a full-time job for me.)

    Jesus never condoned sin. He always encouraged repentance.

    Jesus hung on the cross and said “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.”

    Unasked-for forgiveness.

    Absolution without repentance.

    For the most heinous sin in the history of the world.

    That’s the God I worship and try to follow. He knows nothing of hate. He chose not to punish or smite, but to love and forgive.

  6. Very interesting commits to all. We are all sinners and have come short of the glory of God. God can not look upon sin. Jesus died on the cross for everyone’s sins. His blood washes away those sin than is how God and his people are bound together. “No man shall come unto the Farther but by me” You have to turn from you sins (that is true repentance). We are to love our brother as ourselves but we are not to embrace their sins. No one is judging the person for their life choice they are just dis-liking them. Do I think homosexuality ( gay marriage) is wrong (sin)? Yes, God created marriage between one man and one woman period. Genisis 2: 21-25.

  7. What I am seeing here are many people at different places in their walk with Christ. I am not the same person today as I was a year ago and especially not 25 years ago when I accepted the Lord as my personal Savior. Pray one for another, dive into His Word for answers. Convictions come at different times to different people. We are to love people, not the sin…….remember this, sin is sin, who are we to say whose is worse than anothers. The Lord sees all sin as equal and He offers forgiveness from it through a relationship with Him. If you are gossiping about what your neighbor did or said, if you are swearing at the car in front of you for not going fast enough for your schedule then you are partaking in a sinful act. If you have a personal relationship with our Lord Jesus Christ, He will convict you of what YOUR sin, don’t expect your brother to have the same convictions at the same times as you. Remember, Philippians 1:6… being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ. Ask the Lord for guidance every day and for His words to be your words. Do not make the mistake I have…..having a family member believe that I thought she was going to hell for her sexual preferences……I am so glad that she finally told me that so that I could tell her the steps to accept the Lord as her Savior. And from that moment, I left the rest up to Him, who knows all, created all, loves all and when I laid it at His feet and quit trying to fix it myself, I was freed! Why are we always talking of what others are doing wrong….you know, if we spent as much energy on fixing ourselves and living the life God called us to live, this world would be a different place! So pray one for another, pray for our city, pray for our country, pray for our leaders, then trust that God hears your prayers and that He is in control!

Leave a Reply

