When Your Child Calls

Standard

“Mom…”

Whether they are 3 or 7 or 17, when you hear your name being called from another room, you move. And 9 times out of 10 you know based on the child, the tone and time of day if your name is going to be followed by a tantrum or vomit. Thankfully, I just got a request for coffee this morning.

As a parent, I can tell instantly by that “Mom…” what my darlings need: What happened? Who hurt you? Get to the toilet!

I also know what it’s like when they don’t call my name and turn to someone/something else for comfort or help. It pisses me off. Especially if what they turn to is completely inadequate to do the job.

When my son was younger he was bullied by some older boys (who also wanted to play with him… I never did understand that). One day, as I watched him get off the bus and brushed-past by these two nit-wits I saw the anger rise through his little body. He was so angry, so frustrated that he was in tears by the time he hit the door.

I was ready with my words of comfort and loving hugs and kisses but instead he came inside, dropped his back pack at my feet and fell on the dog bed next to our sleeping boxer, Belle.

“Buddy, come here and talk to me.”

“No,” he announced and snuggled up to a stinky, sleeping dog.

Damn dog.

The Apple and The Tree

How often though have I fallen on the dog (or a cupcake or an unhealthy relationship) to meet my needs instead of uttering my Father’s name? He whispers constantly, “Come here and talk to Me.” And sometimes I do but sometimes I don’t. And still, He waits for me to come to Him. He never complains that I smell of dog (or cupcakes); He just listens, guides, and helps me get cleaned up…

If my kids know that when they call, this fallible, broken human being they know as Mom will come, how much more should I know that my loving, holy, trustworthy Father will come when I call?

Before they call I will answer; while they are still speaking I will hear. Isaiah 65:24

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.” Jeremiah 29:11-12

This is what the LORD says, he who made the earth, the LORD who formed it and established it—the LORD is his name: Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.” Jeremiah 33:2-3

One response »

Leave a Reply

