Don’t you know who I am?

Standard
Don’t you know who I am?

I am the 4th of 5 kids. I’m the youngest girl. And the age difference between the youngest of the 3 older ones and I is about 8 years. I am an odd cross between spoiled youngest and bossy eldest (my “little brother” is 4 years younger than me). It’s awesome and it made me a bit….precocious as a child. (Shocker, I know).

My older brother and sisters were in high school when I was in grade school and when I was bullied (which happened often with one boy in particular) I’d always pull the “don’t you know who I am?” card. My siblings were popular and well-loved by their high school counterparts. And many of my classmates had siblings who knew (or knew of) my brother and sisters.

And then one day I got caught running my mouth off to the Mean Boy that my brother would “teach you a lesson” and my brother said (in front of the Mean Boy who was bullying me), “No. I’m not going to fight your fight.” I was totally abandoned. Two things happened that day–my bully and I would quickly come to odds (blows) because he knew I was unprotected and I never trusted my big brother would “be there” for me if I needed him. Ever. Again.

Now, there are those that would say I learned a valuable lesson that day: not to run my mouth (if you’ve met me, you know that lesson didn’t stick) and to fight my own battles. What I learned was not to trust.

Then I moved in with my dad. And tough little me met my tough (tender-hearted) protector. My dad ALWAYS kept me safe. I knew that he would never abandon me (even if I deserved it) and I knew that there wasn’t anyone who could defeat him. He commanded the presence of a room by just walking into it.

Knowing these 2 sides of trust has really helped me in my spiritual life. I am strong-willed and tend to want to do things on my own but when I walk in the truth that “…we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.” (Ephesians 6:12) I realize I need my Defender.

God reminds us constantly throughout scripture who He is because He does not want us fighting our own battles! God expects me, one, to know who my Father is and what He is capable of, and, two, to look at the Enemy of My Soul and say, Oh yeah, don’t you know who my Dad is? I have no power in my flesh to defeat him, but God’s already won these battles. The devil just needs to be reminded.

If you are facing a fight or a situation that is leaving you feeling weak and defeated, please KNOW that your God loves you and is strong enough to fight your battle and loving enough to bind your wounds. He is your Armor; trust Him.

Leave a Reply

