Greek Yogurt and Discipline

Standard

I have decided to revamp my diet. Two reasons: I’m finding that certain foods are starting to trigger migraines and an upset stomach in me that didn’t before and I really should eat better. Oh, and my butt isn’t fitting into my summer clothes. So, three reasons.

Now, what I am getting rid of is mainly aspartame and monosodium glutamate (MSG). I never realized how much aspartame and MSG is in everything! I even had to change the yogurt I was eating. Everyone was talking about how uber fab Greek yogurt was: lots of protein, no preservatives, no aspartame… so I thought, sign me up!

You are what you eat

When you have to stretch your neck to get a food down, it’s not a good sign.

Enter Discipline

I know my over-sweetened taste buds need to be re-educated and Greek yogurt is good for me and I should be eating it—not Cap’n Crunch cereal, which is what I really want. I also know that making these changes takes time and a “walking it out” mentality. Any practice worth doing takes practice.

And additional fruit.

My human nature loves the easy fix. I want things to just happen or change—when I’m ready and in my time. I don’t want there to be process or practice or pain. That’s sucky. But that’s life and that’s how true change happens.

I was reading a blog by Rick Warren (I know, what’s happening to me. I’m embracing the “popular Christian” and it’s actually speaking to me… Blame God.) Warren points out that people who are self-disciplined:

  • Master their moods (Proverbs 25:28)
  • Watch their words (Proverbs 13:3)
  • Restrain their reactions (Proverbs 19:11)
  • Stick to a schedule (Ephesians 5:15-16)
  • Manage their money ((Proverbs 21:20)
  • Maintain their health (1 Thessalonians 4:4)

ALL things I need to do better, by the way. But how do I cultivate self-discipline? (Did that sound whiny? Yeah, it was). I can master my will by yielding it to Christ’s. Now that may seem counter intuitive—shouldn’t discipline come by sucking it up and getting it done? Don’t I need to dig deep, act like I got a pair and just do it?  No, because that hasn’t worked for me for the last 40 years maybe I should change my game plan for the next 40.

Galatians 5 talks about living in freedom through the Spirit and His power.  Verse 16 sums it up: Let the Holy Spirit guide your lives. Then you won’t be doing what your sinful nature craves.

Today I yield. It may seem silly but I need to consciously choose the Holy Spirit. To wake up each day and say, I am Yours. Guide my desires. And break my will if need be.

So hand me a spoon (and some strawberries), I have yogurt to eat.

2 responses »

  1. Hey Stephanie,

    Thanks for the insight. I’m having trouble distinguishing the difference between sucking it up and forcing myself to do something, and sucking it up and forcing myself to submit to God. They both involve an act of will. Please explain the difference as you see it.

    Kind Regards,
    Kerry

    • For me, when I suck it up and do it in myself, I don’t include God in the process–there isn’t any prayer or yielding on my part. However, when I submit my will and choose to do what I have been called to do (and sometimes, it is just a matter of “you’re a mature believer and you know better, do what you know you’re supposed to be doing”) there HAS to be my submission to Him–prayer, confession (and in my case, whining and occasionally pouting). I guess the easiest way I know if I am doing something in myself or in Him is by the silence between us. I am finding that trying to obedient without including Him continually in the process, I fail every time. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

