Crying on a date

Standard

Day 4 was. Yeah, it just was.

While it was a productive day–I even had a lovely dinner with a great group of friends–it was overshadowed by a confrontation. The who, the what, the why won’t be shared here. It’s not important. However I was deeply angered and hurt by this person’s words.

I went on about the day though. What else do you do? Later, getting into the car, irritated and fustrated, questioning, Will anyone actually ever see me? Thinking in response to my own question, I doubt it… I started the car and the song on the radio played “I will love you for you, not for what you have done or what you will become. I will love you for you, I will give you the love, the love that you never knew… ” *sigh* Ok, Jesus, I’m listening.

That evening, while trying to pray and worship, I couldn’t shake the days’ events so I just gave it to Him. I dropped the “I’m ok” attitude and let Him into the hurt. And He whispered love and truth and comfort and I praised Him for being loving and faithful.

I don’t usually cry on a date but this time seemed appropriate. Don’t get me wrong, I let Jesus into my “stuff” but sometimes I shrug off the deep hurts and don’t let Him fully into the grief because I don’t want to deal with it.

Day 4 was hard and hurtful but precious and well-worth it too.

Leave a Reply

