Check your snout

Standard

I have been praying for this woman I know and over the last 2 weeks anytime I pray for her the scripture that comes to mind is Proverbs 11:22:

Like a gold ring in a pig’s snout is a beautiful woman who shows no discretion.

Harsh, right?

But sadly, true in this case because she shows no discretion. Now don’t get me wrong, I fully see the log in my own eye. I know that I’m full-fledged member of Golden Snout Anonymous. And every woman with an ounce of self-reflection reading this right now is thinking, “Is it me?” Because God knows, we’ve all played the pig.

Discretion is not just about behaving well. Nor is it about knowing what is right and wrong. Discretion is about behavior driven by wisdom.

Dancing on a table in a bar in an ill-fitting mini skirt…no discretion. Pulling your friend off of the table and taking her home as she protests…discretion. (Although I would argue Discretion would also have not let her out in a mini skirt but I digress.)

But what about these scenarios? Going out with a guy friend and leaving your honey at home? Well, it was just lunch and you work together…ok. How about a cruise to the Bahamas on his dime? Is that ok if Honey gets sea sick and will never take you on one? And you really deserve to go on a cruise.

What about posting everything on Facebook? Every feeling, family issue and heartbreak…Are these prayer requests or a lack of discretion?

It gets fuzzy. I know I’ve said, “I’m a free spirit. What you see is what you get. You can take me or leave me, I don’t care.” And while I don’t believe in living solely to make other people happy, I do know that the times I haveĀ  said these statements they preceded some selfish or self-serving behavior. I want what I want because I want it.

A woman with discretion knows that her behavior has consequences. That it impacts and influences the people around her. Our children, our men, our weaker Christian sisters, our unsaved friends, our family.

And as God’s girl, it also impacts Him. Reflects on Him. When we show discretion we are asking ourselves, “How can I live for Christ in this situation?” Or more simply, how can I better love because He is love. 1 John 4:16 says, And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.

How can I show love in this situation? Or, what will they remember about me and this when they look back on it? Did my behavior make the ones around me feel/know/experience my (or God’s) love for them more? Or less?

And I’ll be honest, like my friend who is living a life of indiscretion right now, I too can bedazzle a snout-ring with the best of ’em. That’s where having women around who will check your snout and let you know if it’s gold or not is important. Because a woman with discretion knows being with other women who desire discretion is the only way to stay gold-free.

2 responses »

  1. Fantastic!! I love reading your thoughts. Now as a guy this does not directly reflect on me… but as a brother in the Lord, and obviously as a fellow sinner this still rings true in a deep place with me. Thanks so much for sharing this with us.

  2. Oh my gosh, it’s great that you wrote about this verse. I’ll never forget my reaction when I read it for the first time – the recognition, the wisdom, the loaded imagery, God’s sense of humor. I often quote this scripture when people ask me what is my life verse; not because it is, but because I love seeing the look on their face!

Leave a Reply

